jump to navigation

Some more on the Trinity? July 6, 2006

Posted by larrylaz in Seeking Him.
trackback

Joe,

I did have a feeling as I checked this blog a few times yesterday and saw no post from you that you were getting a big one ready…and of course I was right.  How in the world am I supposed to respond to all that?  I definitely like your thoughts on John 17:26, I can’t say I’ve ever considered that passage to be speaking of the Holy Spirit. 

I also thought you did a nice job of explaining Edwards’ concept of the Holy Spirit as the joy that the Father and the Son share toward one another.  Where does he get that biblically though?  I mean, it sounds great and all but what Scripture does he use to point to such an understanding? 

And to make this a bit practical, how should what we’ve talked about along these lines make us pursue Jesus more passionately?  I know we will end up tackling some heavy theological themes on here, but I don’t want this site to be a place where we exalt head knowledge without applying it to one another.  If such a concept of the Trinity is true, and if Jesus prayed in Gethsemane that this joy that the Father and Son share would be in us, how should such truth affect our lives?

Let me know what you think, and if you can get some Scripture to support Edwards’ ideas that would be great.

 Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

