jump to navigation

A Couple Scattered Thoughts July 7, 2006

Posted by larrylaz in Seeking Him.
trackback

Joe,

If that’s what you’ve got to say when you’ve only got a few minutes, then I’m really wondering what kind of a discourse you’re going to give me when you’ve got a lot of time! 

I trust you know what I meant when I asked you to “get practical”.  Of course there is nothing more practical in the Christian life than knowing Jesus Christ.  After all, it is knowing Jesus that Paul said was so valuable and so satisfying that all that he held as gain he regarded as rubbish in order to possess this great Treasure.  If we do not know Him accurately, then we cannot love Him as passionately.  If we have not contemplated the excellencies of Jesus Christ, then we cannot proclaim Him with much power to those who don’t know Him. 

I simply wanted to make sure that we make application to some of these heavy truths that we are likely to explore here.  It is one thing to say that the Holy Spirit is the Personified infinity of joy flowing back and forth between the Father and the Son.  It is another thing altogether to see how this reflects the infinite happiness that God has in enjoying His own glory, which has the potential to ignite such a passion in us when we consider that Jesus prays that His joy would be in us.  I just want to make sure we are constantly looking to take these glorious truths and move them from the abstract to the personal.   

I don’t think I am communicating well what I mean, but that may be because I’ve been looking at the computer today for well over 6 hours now (sermon prep for Sunday night), so I’ve about had it for the day.  But let me at least close with a Scripture that hopefully will stir our hearts!  I read it this morning and it certainly did for me:

6By the word of the Lord the heavens were made, and by the breath of his mouth all their host. 7He gathers the waters of the sea as a heap; he puts the deeps in storehouses. 8Let all the earth fear the Lord; let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him!” (Psalm 33:6-8)

I know this is a burden of yours, that all the earth might fear the Lord; that is, that some from every tribe and tongue and nation and language might stand in awe of Him. Keep urging me to pray these God-sized prayers and not settle for my own private world which too often forgets the spreading of God’s glory to the ends of the earth. 

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

