jump to navigation

A Good Sunday August 27, 2006

Posted by Joe in Random Musings.
trackback

Lar,

I am thankful that I was able to hear two good messages this morning. After hearing you preach this morning, I went down to hear Rob. He brought some light and heat from Galatians 3:13, “Chirst redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us.” As you know, you just can’t get enough of that.

As for you, I am intrigued to see what else you have to say next week! For you packed a heavy punch this morning–and for that I give thanks. In particular, you know that your last point is dearest to my heart. I could spend the rest of my days trumpeting the truth that our most desperate need is to see Jesus for who He really is–for who He is revealed to be in the Scriptures. When all is said and done, this is where our deliverance is found. Let’s trumpet it together until we die–for it is always needed, and it can never get old.

Contrary to some of your comments to me, I do struggle with the fear of man. In fact, I think it is a great struggle that manifests itself in a variety of ways. It is tough stuff, b/c the deceptiveness of my heart can be so subtle–or apparently spiritual. Like any battle, constant diligence is necessary. And I was thinking about that this morning in fact: the simple reality that constant diligence is needed in fighting this battle, but we cannot allow this constant diligence to consume our lives.

Here is what I mean. It has been my experience that once we listen to a message like yours and realize that we have a fear of man problem (or problemsss), the tendency might be to look in too much–to spend too much time focusing on the fact that we are fearing men at any particular moment. Some struggle with this more than others for sure, but it is a reality that I believe many will wrestle with. What struck me as I reflected on what you said was how important it is to have a solid ‘balance’ (for lack of a better term), between looking in and recognizing the fear of man and looking out to Christ so that you might be delivered from the fear of man.

For it seems to me that sin can many times have a paralyzing effect–in that it can attract too much attention. For as we know, if we look in too much, the darkness will not lift nor the sin die. A careful balance between looking in and out are desperately needed. And that is surely what you pointed to at the end, but what I have in mind right now is the importance of looking to Christ in that very moment of struggle. Failure at any point in our Christian walk is always a failure to think rightly of God.

I could go on, but give me some dialogue with this at some point (tomorrow I am assuming), for this battle is a big one for us all. Like all sins, once you think you have it in one aspect of life, it creeps up in another! I can’t wait for the consumation of the kingdom! No battle then–just eternal peace and joy! But until then, let’s fight together to be like Jesus by looking not at men’s faces, but truly teaching the way of God.

Seeking His delivering countenance with you,

Joe

p.s. I am definitely looking forward to more on your word study of kerusso (and to your telling me how you got the Greek letters on there! If you teach me how to put the Greek on there, I’ll teach you how to put up pictures!).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

