jump to navigation

Ligonier September 4, 2006

Posted by Joe in Links, Recommendations.
trackback

Good afternoon everyone. I hope to check back in with some more tonight, but I wanted to post a short one before I head off to the Phillies’ game today. Lar didn’t know that I was headed there today, but I am. Anyhow, we both mentioned an update to Desiring God Ministries’ website (a great update actually). I also wanted to encourage everyone to check out Ligonier Ministries updated website as well.

For those of you who don’t know, Ligonier Ministries is centered on the teaching and preaching of R.C. Sproul, a great theologian and teacher (and the two usually go hand in hand!). They have added both video and audio with some easy navigation. You won’t find as much content as you do at Desiring God, but Sproul is good. Specifically, I would encourage you to check out the video series they have started to put up on the Covenants of God. Great stuff. Each teaching is only about 23 minutes or so.

Alright, have to get ready for the game! Talk more soon (if the Lord wills).

Joe

Comments»

1. Ex Ligonier Donor - January 11, 2007

The timing on your Ligonier plug was really unfortunate. Since then a lot has happened, including Ligonier suing a Christian blogger. I used to think that R.C. Sproul was a great teacher too, but a great teacher practices what he teaches. Sproul apparently thinks that 1 Corinthians 6 doesn’t apply to him. http://vancetribe.blogspot.com/2006/09/ligonier-ministries-sues-frank-vance.html

Then when the phones started ringing off the hook from Ligonier donors like me they lied and said there wasn’t a lawsuit. http://vancetribe.blogspot.com/2006/09/ligonier-ministries-employees.html

Then when the lawsuit got published online and they couldn’t get away with lying about it they finally admitted they’d sued Frank Vance. But then they told some more lies by saying that they’d withdrawn the lawsuit when they hadn’t. http://vancetribe.blogspot.com/2006/09/more-ligonier-lies-ligonier-ministries.html

Ligonier’s lies just went on and on. http://vancetribe.blogspot.com/2006/09/more-ligonier-lies-exposed-by-orlando.html

I don’t take kindly to being lied to by ministries that I’ve given money too. R.C. Sproul may talk the talk, but in my book he doesn’t walk the walk. I’ll never donate to Ligonier or make another purchase from them ever again.

2. larrylaz - January 11, 2007

Thanks for your comment. I will commission Joe to check into this a little further as he has time. Unfortunately I have a bit too much on my plate to read through the whole situation, but I appreciate your desire to make people aware of some questionable practices.

Larry


Leave a Reply

