jump to navigation

Long Thursday September 7, 2006

Posted by larrylaz in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

With Joe not able to get online much the last couple of days and me being pretty busy the blog hasn’t been getting much love lately. Thursdays are going to be pretty crazy over the next few weeks so I will not have much time to post. But here is something I read this morning which stirred me and challenged me to make the most of today and every day:

The years of our life are seventy, or even by reason of strength eighty; yet their span is but toil and trouble; they are soon gone, and we fly away…So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:10, 12)

Our lives on this earth are a vapor. None of us is guaranteed even one year, let alone seventy or eighty. But even if we get that, it is a mist, and then we fly away into eternity. Oh how I pray that I would not be able to look back with regret on a life wasted on triviality when the most glorious eternal realities have been so graciously revealed to me by the living God!

Let us number our days aright, and make the most of every opportunity we have today to point people to the Fountain of Living Waters, in whom we live and move and have our being.

Larry

Comments»

1. Re - September 15, 2006

Dare I post a comment from a fast approaching 50 year old with thoughts of not knowing what time is left. I am finding myself aware more and more of the “fight”. Recognizing my sin, from an age perspective and from furthering of my awareness of His presence in my life, and I finding myself more often than not fighting the fight from waste. How are my days ending or better yet how are they beginning? Am I ready to meet Him? Am I fulfilling my call or am I caught up in the confusion of the world aimlessly walking in a fog and then suddenly jolted by a reminder (scripture or blog) that I have much to strive for? Thankfully, my search for Him daily has become less of a fog and I find when I do not remember Him, when I dishonor Him it hurts even more. I pray for more time here on Earth not because I do not want to see Him but because I pray to improve my calling here w/ the girls before I go home. I long to get more “right” before that time, to instruct the girls w/ more love and joy and righteousness before I leave. I pray he will allow me to be used powerfully in their lives. I fail miserably, daily. Deliver me Lord. Help me to see not the days pass away under your wrath but have compassion on your servant. Satisfy me in the morning with your unfailing love that I may see with joy and be glad all my days…and overflow w/ worship that I may use your time to its fullest for your children. Yes, teach me to number my days that I may get a heart of wisdom.


Leave a Reply

