jump to navigation

Looking Up September 8, 2006

Posted by Joe in Random Musings.
trackback

Lar,

It’s been a long day for me, but I am thankful for your few posts. Particularly striking was your link to Justin Taylor’s blog. I was actually reflecting on that topic today while out at the golf course. I don’t golf often (3 times this year), but today was beautiful. The sky specifically spoke to the glory of our God. The fresh air and nice breeze. The clouds come along for a time holding back some of the heart from the sun. It was great. The Lord is good.

What struck me, however, was that looking up is not something that comes natural to me (and I assume I am not alone here). I actually had to think about looking up at the sky. Not only that, but after looking, I had to think about how glorious the sight actually was and how it revealed the glory of my God. Honestly, it was harder to look up and set my eyes on the glory revealed there, than it was just to think about the next shot. What’s the lesson? In my mind it’s simple: if we want to be people who naturally appreciate the glory of God as revealed in nature, we have to start by resolving to look up and out!

What I mean by that is that we just can’t pray for it and do it once in a while and expect to be transformed. I didn’t get my jump-shot to be as natural and smooth as it is overnight. It took hours and years to get to where I am now. I can pick up a basketball and shoot it in no problem. But why? Because I resolved to work on the little things. I consciously made a decision day after day to do what I needed to do in order for things to become natural. So it is spiritually I believe. We don’t wake up one morning and just love spending hours with God. It begins with resolve–“I will do this!”–and after a while, it becomes a necessity of life. But without the beginning resolve, without that discipline at the forefront, it will never become natural.

Resolutions are not a bad thing (unless we make them such). It is good to make yourself do what you need to do or should want to do. For after a while it will become a way of life. And that is when things really get sweet. Let’s resolve one small thing now (or at least consider it). Let’s take the time to look up everyday and to think of God when we do so. And let’s hold each other accountable on this (and that also we need to resolve to do!). I long to behold the glory revealed there. I long to see more than I see! May the Lord grant grace as we discipline ourselves to look!

Seeking His glory with you,

Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

