jump to navigation

All for Good; Longing for Glory September 9, 2006

Posted by Joe in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

Lar,

I hope and pray that you had a good day today. I trust it was fruitful, as all days are when our great God is in control! We had an interesting one, but as always ultimately, a good one, as He is good and working all things out for our good and His glory. What a rock to stand on! I love the reality of Romans 8:28 and love to contemplate it as just that–reality. Too often I think we tend to think of such promises as God working ALL things out for our good as something ‘out there’ or in some way not immediate or only for the ‘big’ things. But this is not the case! Nothing is excluded from ALL THINGS! All things means all things–and in that I find sweet satisfaction.

And you know, it isn’t usually the big things that trip me up in regards to this promise, but the small things. It’s the guy cutting you off in traffic or the untimely remark from whoever. It is in those moments that I struggle to remember the promise. It is in these ‘surprise’ moments that I see what I am really made of. The bad call by the referee or goofy move by the coach is probably at the top of my list. Nothing exposes the heart like the unexpected. How we respond to that which we do not expect shows who we really are. Our responses to the unexpected in life are a great test of our spiritual growth.

And by unexpected, it should be noted specifically that I am talking about the little things. I said it before, but what I would like to point out is that the focus of our response–what we are really made of–is revealed by the deepest meditations of our heart. Some of us see our inner thoughts and feelings better (or clearer) than others, but either way, the best way I know how to see whether or not I am walking with God is to take note of my immediate feelings when something unexpected occurs (particularly something I would rather NOT have happen!). This takes discernment, but it also takes a healthy dose of realism. It takes a resolve to confront the sinful meditations of our soul–and a recognition that there are plenty to confront.

I of course don’t want to point us too far inward, but we really do need to take note of our inner meditations. When someone says something out of turn, what is my initial thought or emotion? Do I easily grant grace? Does it come natural? And that last question really is important, b/c it is far too easy to ‘fake it.’ I mean, who can’t outwardly say the right thing or give the right expression (although some of us hide it better than others–and I stink at hiding it!)? The outer doesn’t matter. What matters is what God only can see–and what we only can imperfectly know. Psalm 90:8 points to the reality that our iniquities are laid before Him, that our secret sins are laid bare by the light of His presence. Hebrews 4:13 says, “And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give an account.” What God only can see is what ultimately matters, so we should strive to see it–no matter how uncomfortable that might be!

But we should strive to see it with a view not to despondency, but to seeing our great need for greater grace. We should reflect on the inner meditations of our soul in order to drive ourselves to Christ–in order to show ourselves our great need for more of the Holy Spirit, for greater sanctification. There should be a very real sense in which we are uncomfortable in our own skin. I think that a certain level of discomfort with our own hearts is healthy for us as Christians. For if we are perfectly comfortable, I have to think that we might be quite ignorant of our own inner meditations.

Anyhow, I wasn’t going to write about all that, but that is what came out, so that is what stands. What I have written, I have written, and I pray that by God’s great grace, it might minister to one (or two!).

Pray for me brother. I long to be so at rest in sweet fellowship with the Almighty that I naturally become a man of grace. I long to see the supernatural become natural in me (and others) to the glory of our great King! And O how much grace I need. Only when Jesus returns will I be delivered entirely and ushered into that perfect communion of spirit with the Father through the Son–and that forever! Amen. Come Lord Jesus! Until that day, I will seek Him.

And I will make one final note. Did you notice that my discomfort in my own skin made me long for the coming of the King–and the perfection that He brings? I am thinking that you did, but I would like to point that out for everyone. You just can’t long for the King without a healthy dose of discomfort in your own skin. You won’t long to be perfect unless you face up to your imperfections. I think it can be said that how much you long for Jesus’ return and your own perfection is a great measure for how well you really know yourself.

That is convicting. I am O so ignorant! What else can I do, but seek the light of His face, so that I might be exposed and see myself for who I really am. We are wise to embrace discomfort on this earth, so that we might yearn for the comfort of heaven; imperfection on this earth so that we might yearn for the perfection of heaven. Let us face up to the sinfulness of our own souls so that we might live with a greater yearning for the Savior!

Seeking Him with you,

Joe

Comments»

1. sears' - September 10, 2006

thanks for the thougt-provoking post…very timely…praise God for refining us…


Leave a Reply

