jump to navigation

“Word of Faith” Folks Have Something September 26, 2006

Posted by Joe in Quotes, Random Musings.
trackback

Lar,

That title had to make you want to read right? I was thinking it might. But I am serious, and I will tell you why (of course). Although many ‘word of faith’ folks go to a very unhealthy extreme of ‘trusting God for a Mercedes’ or speaking that blessing into your life or whatever, there is a good truth there that is distorted. As is the case with most error, it is simply a truth taken to an unhealthy extreme.

Here is the premise: who you become is determined by what you think. That is true, so I trust you will agree with it! We do become like what we think. No doubt we are called to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. There is a war for our thoughts, so we need to be fighting! And this, all the time. I have to confess that I have been struggling with some ‘defeatist’ thinking as of late. I have just been down, gloomy, lukewarm in some respects. My heart has not been full. Well, the Lord confronted me with my need for that ‘word of faith’ conviction. He brought to mind these wise words from Dr. Martyn Lloyd-Jones,

“Have you realized that most of your unhappiness in life is due to the fact that you are listening to yourself instead of talking to yourself? Take those thoughts that come to you the moment you wake up in the morning. You have not originated them but they are talking to you, they bring back the problems of yesterday, etc. Somebody is talking. Who is talking to you? Your self is talking to you. Now this man’s treatment [in this psalm] was this: instead of allowing this self to talk to him, he starts talking to himself. ‘Why art thou cast down, O my soul?’ he asks. His soul had been depressing him, crushing him. So he stands up and says: ‘Self, listen for moment, I will speak to you.’”

Now that is a great quote. It is based, as you know, on Psalm 42 and 43, where David says, ‘Why are you cast down O my soul? And why so disturbed in me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him, my Savior and my God!” He is preaching to himself, rather than listening to himself. And there in lies the wisdom. It’s tough stuff, but it is right on the money. So the ‘word of faith’ folks have a point. In thinking about it, the issue is not the speaking truth to oneself, but the ‘truth’ that one is speaking.

That is where our differences lie. Where is that quote by Tozer that talked about this stuff? He said something to the effect that what we think about when we are free to think about whatever we will, shows us what we will soon become. Let us war for our thoughts brother! Taking every single one captive to obey Christ Jesus. Let’s get a little ‘word of faith’ in us and become more like Jesus for the glory of His great name.

Speaking to myself with you,

Joe

Comments»

1. yo - November 14, 2006

Just thought I would tell a little fable about the ‘word of faith’ folks, and the anti-‘word of faith’ folks.

christian entering pearly gates: Peter! Peter! What are those ‘word of faith’ people doing here? All they cared about were carnal things when they were on the earth.

Peter: The word said “by His stripes, ye were healed”. Why didn’t you believe it?

christian: Well….it didn’t feel like I was healed.

2. jc3seekhim - November 14, 2006

“Yo”,
Thanks for that one. I appreciated it. Maybe us ‘Reformed’ folk are more feeling oriented than we think!
Peace


Leave a Reply

