jump to navigation

Grace in Time of Need November 13, 2006

Posted by larrylaz in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

Joe,

The quote you shared the other day from Edwards was an encouragement. He said something to the effect that every Christian has the spirit of a martyr and would be willing to die for Jesus if given the choice. I think he is right, based on verses like, “So everyone who acknowledges me before men, I also will acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven, but whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven.” and “And because lawlessness will be increased, the love of many will grow cold. But the one who endures to the end will be saved.” (Matthew 10:32-33, 24:12-13)

I think that my love for Christ is real, and when I think about the those being martyred even this day for Christ, I think of the words in Hebrews 4:16, “Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. God gives today’s mercies today, but He will not give us tomorrow’s mercies until we need them.

It is like when we went to Italy and Smitty held our passports for us, and gave them to us only right before we needed them, when we were in line at the airport. He did that so we wouldn’t lose them. In a similar way (maybe this is a bad analogy!), God does not supply us with the grace we need until the time when we need it. I may not have the grace today to stand for Christ while a man is holding a sword to my stomach and threatening to stab me if I do not deny the Savior. It seems almost inconceivable that I would have the strength to stand firm. But I do not need that grace today, because there is no one threatening me today.

But on the promise of Hebrews 4:16, I can bank on the fact that if life or death is at stake in my profession of faith, He will supply me with what I need to hold fast to Him, even in the midst of suffering and hostility.

What a great and merciful High Priest we have, supplying all our needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Even the need for courage in the face of death!

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

