jump to navigation

Saturday’s Second Recommendation November 25, 2006

Posted by larrylaz in Recommendations.
trackback

Joe,

159052364401_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_aa240_sh20_ou01_sclzzzzzzz_.jpgThanks for your recommendation of Don Whitney’s book on the spiritual disciplines. I’ve never read anything by him but I did hear him speak at the Jonathan Edwards conference in Minneapolis back in 2003 and I was greatly challenged by his address. He spoke about Edwards’ use of the disciplines, and it was thoroughly convicting. Certainly a greater passion for the disciplines is an urgent need in the Church today.

As for my recommendation, I thought it would be good to recommend a book that sort of summarizes where God is challenging me lately: the gospel. We have talked about it before I know, but it is so easy to casually gloss over the heart and soul of the gospel by moving on to the “deeper things” of Christianity. But there is no deeper thing than Christ crucified. Thus Paul told the Corinthians, “I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified” (1 Cor. 2:2), and to the Galatians, “But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world” (Gal. 6:14)

CJ Mahaney’s Christ our Mediator is an outstanding book to help you boast only in the cross of our Lord Jesus. This entire book can be read in Mahaney’s newer book, Living the Cross-Centered Life, which combines Christ our Mediator with portions of his first book, The Cross-Centered Life. But I chose to recommend Christ our Mediator because it is a little shorter and therefore will be less overwhelming to people who aren’t big readers. This book is small enough to read in an hour or two, but it shares truth that will be foundational for a lifetime. It’s a book that I have resolved to read at least twice a year for as long as I can foresee, because it’s lessons are that important, and my heart and mind are so prone to forget it!

Hoping to boast only in Christ and Him crucified,

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

