jump to navigation

Lesson in Prayer from Spurgeon and King David November 27, 2006

Posted by larrylaz in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

Charles Spurgeon once preached a sermon on Job 23:3,4 where Job says of God, “O that I knew where I might find Him! That I might come even to his seat! I would order my cause before Him and fill my mouth with arguments.” Spurgeon said,

“the ancient saints were given with Job, to ordering their cause before God. As a petitioner coming into court does not come there without thought to state his case on the spur of the moment, but enters into the audience chamber with his suit well prepared, having also learned how he ought to behave himself in the presence of the great one to whom he is appealing, so it is well to approach the seat of the King of Kings as much as possible with premeditation and preparation, knowing what we are about, where we are standing, and what it is which we desire to obtain.”

I believe Spurgeon has something compelling to teach us here, and I had a great illustration of it this morning in my devotions.  Joe, you probably know where I am going with this one, but I think it would be beneficial for other readers of the site.  Today I read Psalm 6; here are the first few verses:

1O Lord, rebuke me not in your anger, nor discipline me in your wrath. 2Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am languishing; heal me, O Lord, for my bones are troubled. 3My soul also is greatly troubled. But you, O Lord—how long? 4Turn, O Lord, deliver my life; save me for the sake of your steadfast love. 5For in death there is no remembrance of you; in Sheol who will give you praise?

Sometimes we read the Bible so casually that we never think about what the Bible is actually saying.  So here are some questions to reflect on:

1. What is David asking God for?

2. What is the ‘argument’ that David makes for why God should answer his prayer?

3. Are there other places in Scripture where the biblical writers pray with this same kind of ground, or argument?

4. How often are your personal prayers grounded in the same argument that David’s is in Psalm 6?

I hope this short reflection is profitable!

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

