jump to navigation

Setting the Mind on Things Above (and living like it) December 2, 2006

Posted by Joe in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

Lar,

That’s me I’m talking about–getting worked on by the Lord. I know it’s always the case, but I think you would agree that there are specific times in which the Lord exposes and seeks to change your heart is specific and radical ways. Here are some verses that have been striking my soul.

“Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions” (Luke 12:15).

Leave it to Jesus to state the obvious. “One’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.” I suppose that most people would agree with that in the end, however, how careful our we in taking care and being on our guard against all forms of covetousness. That little word ‘all’ has been striking to my heart as well, for it points to the reality that my covetousness will clothed itself in a thousand different ways. Sure, I know I am struggling with covetousness when I want a new truck or computer. But do I realize it is the same issue within me when I want that new book or more likely, books? I need eyes to see. So I thank the Lord for stating the obvious. I need some obvious reminders every single day.

Then this morning,

“For the sons of this world are more shrewd in dealing with their own generation than the sons of light. And I tell you, make friends for yourselves by means of unrighteous wealth, s that when it fails they may receive you into the eternal dwellings. One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much. If then you have not been faithful in the unrighteous wealth, who will entrust to you the true riches? And if you have not been faithful in that which is another’s, who will give you that which is your own? No servant can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money” (Luke 16:8-13).

The power and persuasion of America is great. I need eyes to see how much my heart and desires are shaped by American convictions and how little I reflect the radical call to follow Jesus. What good is it for a man to gain the whole world yet forfeit his life? Or what can a man give in return for his life? O how much grace I need to die to self and lose my life. I need diligence in waiting on the Lord for the eyes to see and the heart to fight. Covetousness, worldliness, discontentment. Pray for grace brother. My heart needs to undergo some serious renovation! Of course, I trust that if the Lord loves me, this will continue to be the case for the rest of my days. In that, I rejoice! But also, I look forward to the day when the fight will be over and the eternal beholding will begin.

Pray for me, that the Lord might grant the grace to set my minds on things above. I will do the same for you brother. It’s tough in a world like ours, but the Lord loves to grant such mercy in order to magnify His worth and beauty. Let us pray for confidence that the Lord is jealous to make known His name.

Seeking the grace to live for eternity,

Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

