jump to navigation

Sunday Morning Prayer December 24, 2006

Posted by larrylaz in Prayer.
trackback

“1If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.” (1 Corinthians 13:1-3)

Help us, Father, to be instruments of Your love. Spiritual gifts, knowledge, faith, are all rubbish if we do not have love. This is how Christ has said that we would show ourselves to be His disciples, and how to show the world Your glory (John 13:35, 17:22-23). Give us power, Lord to embody in our daily lives the marks of love that the Apostle sets forth in this chapter: patience and kindness. Freedom from envy, arrogance and rudeness. Joy in the truth. Help us to bear all things and believe all things and hope for all things and endure all things. Show Yourself to be glorious, Lord, by using us to incarnate for others the astounding love of Christ. And above all things, help us to love and treasure You with the delight and zeal that You are worthy of.

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

