jump to navigation

Talking About What Matters Most January 3, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Quotes, Random Musings.
trackback

Last week I posted some questions from Don Whitney about reflecting on the new year. One of the questions he asked was, “What book outside the Bible do you want to read this year?” and I chose Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology.

So on Monday I began the long journey through the book; with over 1,200 pages, I know it will be a year-long study! As I read, I was struck by these words from Grudem in the preface :

“I am convinced that there is an urgent need in the church today for much greater understanding of Christian doctrine, or systematic theology. Not only pastors and teachers need to understand theology in greater depth — the whole church does as well. One day by God’s grace we may have churches full of Christians who can discuss, apply, and live the doctrinal teachings of the Bible as readily as they can discuss the details of their own jobs or hobbies — or the fortunes of their favorite sports team or television program.”

Many people wonder why the study of doctrine is important, and I have spoken with numerous Christians who lament about how impractical it is to get into lofty discussions about Christian doctrine. While it is very important to give heed to Grudem’s challenge about discussing, apply AND living Christian doctrine, few things upset me more than people who speak of having deep doctrinal conversations as a waste of time. I am growing weary of being told that talking about unconditional election, or propitiation, or the Trinity is a waste of time, while talking about the Philadelphia Eagles’ playoff chances or some “reality” television show is acceptable! Oh for the day when God’s people will be so ravished with God that He is all we want to talk about!

I trust that Grudem’s systematic theology book will be a means of grace which God uses to stir my heart to a greater love for the glories of our great God and Savior. And if God is gracious to do that, you can be sure that I will be talking to others about it!

Larry

Comments»

1. Gino - January 3, 2007

Amen and amen!

Larry, just last night I too was convicted to read Grudem’s Systematic Theology this year. Interesting.

I will pray for you regularly that God would graciously grant you greater understanding of his will and ways through the work that Grudem has put together so that his great name made be made known even more through you.

I look forward to discussing this with you, and others, in the coming year.

Soli Deo gloria,
Gino

2. Gerry - January 3, 2007

Hi Lar,
Grudem’s book…I was just reading mine last night. I will pray for you and Gino and also Joe because I know he is going through the book too. Thanks for the encouragement brother!!!!! I, like Gino, would love to discuss the book with you and others…uh-oh, sounds like another class:)

Gerry

3. larrylaz - January 3, 2007

Thanks for the encouragement guys. I am grateful for the two of you, because your love for Christ is evident from time spent with you, and our conversations do in fact revolve around the things that matter the most.

Larry

4. Re - January 4, 2007

ok…a chick buts in…impressive,convicting and encouraging to read this segment and see those committed to study the Truth….o to have the time to read GST…I will stumble through SHDS first and catch you all on the upward swing…praying we all grow in the glory of Christian doctrine.

Re

5. larrylaz - January 4, 2007

Re,

You are right in that not all of us have the same amount of time to give to the growing in the knowledge of God. But I trust that God will be faithful in meeting you during the time that you do have. You would be surprised at what you can read in a short amount of time. In fact, that makes me want to post something…

Larry


Leave a Reply

