jump to navigation

The Salt of the Earth January 9, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

Joe,

I see that your success on the basketball court over in Spain is gaining some us some new viewers, so I just want to welcome those of you who may be checking in from Spain to see what we have to say over here. Our desire is that this blog help people grow in a deeper love and pursuit of Jesus Christ. More than basketball or money or fame, Jesus Christ is the greatest joy in life. And I know that you, Joe would give a hearty Amen to that!

Anyway, the other night I was able to get back into the Sermon on the Mount for the first time in a few weeks. The verse for our consideration was Matthew 5:13, about being the salt of the earth. I explored four different uses for salt which have application for how we are to interact with the world.

First, salt is a preservative. In the days when Jesus preached this sermon, salt was rubbed into meat to keep it from rotting and decaying. And so Christians are called to fight against the depravity of our society with the gospel of the grace of God. One hundred people per minute step into eternity, and for most that will mean everlasting torment in hell. Christians are to be salt which keeps people from the decay of everlasting destruction.

Second, salt adds flavor to what is dull and bland. The unbelieving world is bored with life; there can be no escaping this. I can see no other reason why this headline is among the top news stories at cnn.com: Britney, K-Fed agree to temporary joint custody. Only people who are bored with life can get excited about garbage like that. But the life of a salty Christian testifies that there is something infinitely more valuable and satisfying than the fleeting pleasures of this life. Fellowship with Jesus adds a flavor to life and frees us from bondage to triviality.

Third, salt creates thirst. If our lives are full of the flavor of fellowship with Christ, our lives will beckon people to come to Christ and drink from His Living Water. In James Boice’s commentary on the Sermon on the Mount, his chapter on Matthew 5:13 is titled, “Do you make men thirsty?” A great title, and a great question for self-examination.

Fourth, salt melts ice. God will use the life of a Christian to melt even the coldest, hardest heart towards Him.

The sum of the matter is this: our lives are worthless, and good for nothing but being trampled on, unless we are pointing people to Jesus Christ as the satisfaction of their weary souls. Preaching on this verse made me ask myself the question, when I am dead and gone from this world, what effect will my life have had on others? What will they remember about me? What legacy will I leave with those who spent time with me? It made me think of the refrain to a song by Nichole Nordeman called Legacy:

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love?
Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace
Who blessed Your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

Desiring to live in such a way as to make people thirsty for Christ,

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

