jump to navigation

Heavy Territory January 23, 2007

Posted by Joe in Random Musings.
trackback

Lar,

I see you entered some heavy territory yesterday. I am very sure that you weren’t able to give that post the time and words that you would have liked. In fact, I might imagine that you could have broken the all-time longest post in response to Jim’s comments. And those were some heavy (and good) comments Jim. The philosophical realm is by no means my expertise, nor is the scientific. Of course, now that I think about it, I’m not sure I have an area of expertise. Maybe ‘hoops’ I suppose. I’m very well versed there.

Anyhow, I would love to write more regarding those rich, deep waters of theological thought, but I don’t have the time to do so presently. However, I would like to make mention of the fact that it is the glory of God to ordain all things in time and space in such a way that does not negate the responsibility of man. Of course, I would hold onto the rich truth that God determined in eternity ‘past’ (which I realize is an imprecise term) the course of human history, including who would and who wouldn’t be saved. I understand the philosophical (actually, they are also theological) thoughts regarding God’s existence apart from time, indeed, over time, as it is His servant to serve His ends, but such thoughts don’t really help me much when I read, for example, a verse like Revelation 13:7-8, which reads (when speaking of the Beast)

“And authority was given it over every tribe and people and language and nation, and all who dwell on earth will worship it, everyone whose name has not been written before the foundation of the world in the book of life of the Lamb that was slain.”

That line ‘written before the foundation of the world’ is a big one. And it isn’t the only such line is Scripture. So, though, the glory of God as revealed through predestinating and saving His people will remain difficult, when we look at the whole of Scripture, it seems wise to emphasize what God emphasizes. And surely He emphasizes the redemption of His chosen people. Indeed, I think it is made plain in Scripture that this is central in His redemptive work. It isn’t the only thing, but it is the central thing that He has chosen to do in order to fully make known the riches of His glory in human history by making His creation that which He forever intended it to be.

And again, this doesn’t negate human responsibility. The Bible emphasizes that as well, for sure, however, we must beware of holding onto that truth in such a way that we ignore or minimize the importance of God’s predestinating purpose–and most importantly, the revelation He makes of Himself by doing so.

Alright, that is enough. Lord knows, I could go on for days. And maybe another day, I will do so, if the Lords. Suffice it to say that I love the sovereignty of God as revealed through His choosing and saving His people. And I bless His name that He has graciously chosen me. Surely it is a most humbling truth.

Also, Lar, I look forward to more thoughts from you. And I trust that they will be a bit more well-versed than mine!

Beholding His glory with you,

Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

