jump to navigation

In Pursuit of God January 23, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Quotes.
trackback

As I’m focusing my thoughts this week on the theme of pursuing God, I have been re-acquainting myself with Tozer’s great book The Pursuit of God (Hence this morning’s prayer). In the preface, Tozer describes the person who I long to be. It is my prayer that all who will join us on the retreat this weekend, and all who visit this blog, would be described by Tozer’s words here:

“Within the fold of conservative Christianity there are to be found increasing numbers of persons whose religious lives are marked by a growing hunger after God Himself. They are eager for spiritual realities and will not be put off with words, nor will they be content with correct ‘interpretations’ of truth. They are athirst for God, and they will not be satisfied till they have drunk deep at the Fountain of Living Water.”

Gladly pursuing Him,

Larry

Comments»

1. Eloise T. McGowan - January 23, 2007

Many years ago, while playing church and preparing to begin my week-end ritual of sin, I had an encounter with the Holy Spirit. Mind you, I was not actively seeking God. I was miserable and needed God but as a backsliding church girl, there seemed no place to go. Let me just say that I missed the party that week-end and I have never attended another of its kind. I have made the pursuit of God my passion. It seems that God is slippery sometimes. Just when I think I am in solid relatonship with Him, He suddenly seems faroff and I frantically pursue. I guess the point I want to make is that for me the pursuit of God is not an event but a tireless journey that has lead me down long hard but joyful roads. Anyone in pursuit of God must change!

2. larrylaz - January 23, 2007

You are certainly right in saying that the pursuit of God is not an event, but a journey. There is a popular way of doing evangelism today which tells people that once they have prayed a prayer or made a decision, that they need do nothing more. But surely such an “event” is not the pursuit of God, though it can be the beginning of the pursuit!

Thanks for your comment,

Larry


Leave a Reply

