jump to navigation

Gratitude January 26, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

God has reminded me over the last week how ungrateful I am.  It is an ugly sight.  He used these words in Acts 17 to bring great conviction:

“He himself gives to all mankind life and breath and everything.”

It is staggering to me how little I am give Him thanks for giving me everything.  I have been trying to discipline myself to give thanks more often, in my heart and with my lips.  The other day as I began devotions, the Lord brought to mind all the grace that I had already partook of in the 15 minutes I had been awake.  Which of these gifts am I deserving of?

A warm, comfortable bed with a lovely wife next to me, and a growing baby inside of her.

Hot water that could just be turned on with a turn of a knob.  This is unheard of in other parts of the world.

Clean clothes to put on.

A granola bar and bottle of water to help me stay alert in the Word.

After walking outside into the biting cold (I do devotions in the office across the driveway), how precious is the gift of indoor heating, and the fact that I have a place to live to escape this awful cold.  Thousands do not have the same gift.

A quiet office, with the only noise being the noise of the heater kicking on.

The Word of God in my own native language, with which I can grow in the knowledge and love of the Creator of the Universe, who became a Man and shed His blood to atone for my rebellion so that I could enjoy Him forever.

And with each passing hour, with each passing minute,  I have more and more to be thankful for.  I am learning that gratitude is a discipline.  If I was in a glorified body, I suppose it would not be a needed discipline.  I would give thanks effortlessly.  But I am still in flesh and blood, and my foolish, sinful heart still holds on to the twisted notion that I am entitled to certain comforts and privileges.

But the day will come when I will have a glorified body, and my war against sin will be over.  And for that also, I can give thanks.

I encourage our readers to pause and take 5-10 minutes to simply give thanks to God for His bountiful blessings in Christ.  It is healing to the soul, and without it, we cannot properly honor God:

 “I will praise the name of God with a song; I will magnify him with thanksgiving” (Psalm 69:30)
Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

