jump to navigation

The Centrality of Jesus Christ February 15, 2007

Posted by Joe in Random Musings, Recommendations.
trackback

Lar,

Good morning brother.  I wanted to begin the day by posting some thoughts in relation to your post from yesterday.  It was one of my favorites from you.  I appreciated the title to say the least.  I actually saw it in the drafts section a bit back and was wondering what in the world you were going to say!

First, it must be said that you are by no means crazy.  I mean, I can understand why it’s there, but at the same time, I think you are right that such a designation naturally brings a dichotomy of thought to readers.  I have often wondered about the printing of New Testaments alone.  I don’t condemn the practice by any stretch, however, it is worth nothing that the whole of the Old Testament (there’s those words again!) Scriptures serve to set the stage for the coming of Jesus Christ.  In the Old we find pictures of what is taught in the New.  Indeed, it could be said that the Old Testament is the New Testament in seed form.

I can remember back to the beginnings of my Christian walk in particular.  You surely remember the days when I had an incredibly difficult time reading the Old Testament (and would even joke about it).  Why was that the case?  Well, first on the list of course was that dreaded page!  Ok, some I’m kidding, but in all seriousness, I would have to say that first on the list was the fact that no one taught me a sound biblical theology.  At least a book on the subject would have proved incredibly helpful as it would have enable me to see the unity of the Bible.  In particular, I would have been able to ‘seek Him’ while reading the whole of the Scriptures.  The reality was that I read the OT (albeit somewhat sparingly) and had no idea that I was looking for the same Person as I was in the New!

I think you are right that for new believers this is especially important, however, the discipline of biblical theology is one that should and must be appreciated by all.  I just don’t know how you can read your Bible without it.  You will come to Leviticus and wonder what in the world is going on!  And you’ll quite (just as I did numerous times).  Anyhow, I could go on, but in that vein, I want to link to two recommendation posts we made before (One and Two) and essentially make the recommendations again.  If you haven’t read a book on Biblical Theology, get your hands on one.  It will make you love your Bible and, I trust, your Savior more.

Alright Lar.  Go off on that some more if you wish.  I would enjoy it.

Enjoying the unity of the Scriptures,

Joe

