jump to navigation

Sunday Odds and Ends February 25, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Links.
trackback

Joe,

I thought a few odds and ends might do well on this Sunday, as I put the final touches on my sermon for tonight.

A couple of weeks ago I posted a pair of sermons from John Piper on marriage; he is in the midst of a series, and from the way he is talking, it could go on for several more weeks. These messages have been a great blessing to me, because they are coming at marriage not merely from a practical, experiential viewpoint, but from a theological one. I would encourage the couples (as I did when I posted the first two) to watch these together. Here’s Part 3 and Part 4. I hope they’re a blessing.

In this short piece from Al Mohler, Mohler addresses something that he just couldn’t help but mention, though he had vowed not to: America’s fascination with Anna Nicole.

Here’s a great sermon by Jonathan Edwards. I know you have already read it, but it was the first thing I ever read by Edwards and it is a great introduction to him. It is not terribly difficult to read, and it lifts up a beautiful portrait of our Savior.

Finally, here’s some delightful song lyrics from Caedmon’s Call worth musing on:

I am thankful that I’m incapable
Of doing any good on my own

‘Cause we’re all stillborn and dead in our transgressions
We’re shackled up to the sin we hold so dear
So what part can I play in the work of redemption
I can’t refuse, I cannot add a thing

‘Cause I am just like Lazarus and I can hear your voice
I stand and rub my eyes and walk to You
Because I have no choice

Have a good Sunday,

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

