jump to navigation

Are we Heretics? April 16, 2007

Posted by Joe in Links, Random Musings.
trackback

Lar,

I could have made that title more provoking, but figured it might send the wrong message. Something like “News Flash: We are Heretics!” might catch a person’s eye, but it probably wouldn’t fit best (though I typed it first!). Anyhow, you may have already seen this, but apparently, Jerry Falwell said something to the effect that those who believe in Limited Atonement are heretics. You can check it out here.

Considering the fact that we just discussed this topic a few weeks ago, I figured it would be good to link to it. A few lessons from his comments can also be drawn.

First, we need to be very careful about what we say. Of course, everyone knows this (at least intellectually), but I’m quite sure that none of us really feel the full impact of our words. Proverbs 18:21 reads, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.” Now that is saying something! But do I really believe this? Sure, I say I do, but I can be quite flippant, I dare say, most of the time. I mean, come on Solomon, are you serious or just using this for effect?

I think he is serious, dead serious. The words we speak do have that kind of power, maybe not immediately, but eventually. Think about the various comments that you have made that people hold onto and remember and impact them (whether they confess that or not). You know this happens in marriage often. The slightest of words can sink down deep. And sadly, it seems that the harsh words often stay closest to the forefront of our minds!

So, we need to be careful. Even though our blog isn’t exactly the most read on the World Wide Web, it is on-line for everyone to see. That is a big deal and I want to feel the proper weight of it. This post is helping me to do so I suppose.

The second lesson we can draw here (among others of course) is that we need know what ‘heresy’ actually is. I trust that Jerry Falwell does (considering his position), but maybe he had a temporary lapse in judgment or whatever. After all, we all have those! But heresy is something that, if believed or counted upon as doctrine, will keep us from everlasting life. That is to say that it is a doctrine that, if held, keeps you from true saving life in Jesus. This is a very big deal. Therefore, we should not use the term lightly.

Of course, I am sure you are already thinking that I am convicting myself. Well, you are right. I have used that word for almost anything that I disagree with (including goofy things galor!). That isn’t right. I’m not a dull dude (at least in my own estimation–keep the comments to a minimum por favor!), but death and life are in the power of the tongue and those who love it will eat of its fruit. I am sure you are with me here, but I like my fruit to be sweet and satisfying!

Enough for now Lar. And, of course, on the issue, no, we are not heretics. And neither is Jerry Falwell, even though he is wrong. For this is not a doctrine that is necessary to belief for eternal life (thankfully).

Thankful for God’s work in Christ,
Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

