jump to navigation

Clay Pots in God’s Service April 23, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Quotes, Random Musings.
trackback

Joe,

Thanks for your short reflections on the quote from Wesley that I shared yesterday. I do think it was a record for you in terms of shortest post!

I was especially struck by your comments on the wonder of God’s using weak and fallible people like us to accomplish His sovereign purposes. That is something I was especially struck by over the weekend, especially on Saturday night. As I wrote yesterday, I cannot recall a time when I has as much joy in preaching as I did on Saturday night from 2 Corinthians 4:4-6. After the message we had a sweet time in worship through song for about an hour. I know that the impression that the Word of God made on people was a big catalyst in the passion and joy that we experienced in singing.

As the night ended and I went to sleep, I couldn’t help but think how the Lord had used me in stirring His people to a wonderful time of worship. And therein lies a great threat to pride. For if I had begun to think that it was because of my preaching that the night was blessed, I would be making a profound and arrogant mistake.

So when I got home yesterday, I was very refreshed to read this quote on Josh Harris’ blog. It is a quote from J.I. Packer in his book, Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God:

“…the Christian must never for one moment imagine himself to be indispensable to God, or allow himself to behave as if he were. The God who sent him, and is pleased to work with him, can do without him.”

Harris adds his thoughts:

“Let’s work as unto the Lord. But let’s not believe, even for a nanosecond, that the success and accomplishment of God’s agenda depends on us. He’s pleased to use us, and that is more than amazing. But…God’s plan is going to march forward even if you and I drop dead later today.”

Amen, Josh. It is a profound blessing to be used of God to stir His people into a greater enjoyment of His manifold perfections. But God forbid that we should ever think that we are indispensable in the fulfillment of God’s purposes. Our God is in the heavens; He does whatever He pleases (Psalm 115:3). And if I never preach a sermon again, God’s glory will be hindered in absolutely no way.

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.” 2 Corinthians 4:7

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

