jump to navigation

Short Commentary April 23, 2007

Posted by Joe in Random Musings.
trackback

Lar,

I am definitely glad to hear that the Lord granted much grace this weekend. I knew He would in answer to prayer! He was also granted much grace on my end as well.

As for the quote on Wesley, I did read that post by Tim Challies. After reading that quote again, I couldn’t help but think to myself what discipline it takes not to become overly angry with that sermon. And I do say overly angry because I do think a degree of righteous anger is warranted by that work. If you have read it, you can clearly see the divisive and arrogant spirit with which it was said. It was glib and shallow–certainly unbecoming of a man of Wesley’s stature. In all honesty, that sermon in and of itself made me lose an incredible amount of respect for the man. Iain Murray’s biographical work did to some degree restore respect, but I have to tell you, anyone who could preach that sermon in their prime (particularly against a man like Whitefield–who was very gracious), definitely was struggling with some serious arrogance.

Saying all that, however, this is yet another lesson for us, yet another example of the way in which the Lord uses fallible men to build His indestructible kingdom. All of us are weak. We all have our blindspots. For this reason, Christ Jesus is indeed our only hope. And for that we will be eternally grateful!

I have a quote to share sometime later, but that is enough for now. It is always good to end on thoughts concerning the Savior.

Thankful for His mercy,
Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

