jump to navigation

Lightning in Luther’s Life April 26, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Quotes.
trackback

Joe,

As you have been busy in Spain, so too have I been busy here; that accounts for my lack of posting yesterday. I have a break from preaching until the first Sunday in June, but that time is being put to use with a lot of other good things. So this morning I am going to share a quote I read in Sproul’s The Holiness of God, and then this afternoon I will, Lord willing, share why the quote has been meaningful to me over the past couple of days. It’s a quote from Roland Bainton, a church historian and biographer of Martin Luther:

“On a sultry day in July of the year 1505 a lonely traveler was trudging over a parched road on the outskirts of the Saxon village of Sotternheim. He was a young man, short but sturdy, and wore the dress of a university student. As he approached the village, the sky became overcast. Suddenly there was a shower, then a crashing storm. A bolt of lightning rived the gloom and knocked the man to the ground. Struggling to rise, he cried in terror, ‘St. Anne, help me! I will become a monk.’

The man who thus called upon a saint was later to repudiate the cult of saints. He who vowed to become a monk was later to renounce monasticism. A loyal son of the Catholic Church, he was later to shatter the structure of medieval catholicism. A devoted servant of the pope, he was later to identify the popes with Antichrist. For this young man was Martin Luther.”

Truly an amazing story, and one that I had not known until just the other day. I’ll try to get back to you in the afternoon to share with you what I have been thinking about since I read that quote. Until then, let the Blog Nation feel free to chime in with their comments!

Thankful for the cloud of witnesses that has gone before me,

Larry

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

