jump to navigation

Amazement at iTunes June 1, 2007

Posted by larrylaz in Links.
trackback

Joe,

Thanks for the link. I’d love to take some time to respond to the post about curse words, but I am busy working on a message for this Sunday night, so I am going to post another link.

For those who have an iPod, you may find this article interesting. Mark Roberts shares some thought-provoking words on the wonder, and danger, of iTunes. I thought he made some great points, and I love the example he sets of seeing all things from an eternal, Christ-exalting perspective.

Larry

Comments»

1. Erin - June 2, 2007

Lar,
Great link. This paragraph especially hit me:

“As you can see, I’m not preaching here, just wondering. As a lover of technology and convenience, I think iTunes is just swell. And Amazon. And Google. And all of their online friends. Ironically, as I was writing this blog post, my wife wanted me to purchase a couple of CDs for a friend for his birthday. So I did, in about five minutes, thanks to Amazon.) But what happens if we begin to think all of life should be so instantaneous and serviceable. What if we expect our spouses to be like this? Our children? Our churches? Even our God?”

What a great reminder of what a blessing we have in technology and other advancements, but that our thinking of God should shape how we look at them, and not the other way around. The advancements we make should never change how we look at God and others. God and people do not act and react like computers, but so often we spend so much time engaged with high speed technology that we think they should. Great reminder!

Thanks,
Erin


Leave a Reply

