jump to navigation

The Quotable Jesus June 29, 2007

Posted by Joe in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’ And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.”

Much could be said about these verses. That is for sure. However, the last line always stands out to me, “I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.” Imagine that final day, Lar. How many will come before the King of kings thinking about all their good works, congratulating themselves to a certain extent on a life well lived, only to hear Jesus tell them to depart. I wonder, do we really see things as they are? Or do we at least try?

Too often I believe we are prone to view life on the surface. Or an inch below the surface–and then we convince ourselves that we are really thinking deep. But the Bible points us deeper or further. It shows us what will take place on the final day and the way in which we are called to think and live now. It shows us who God is and what He has revealed, so that our minds might be renewed and our eyes see as they ought to see. O how we need new eyes brother! Eyes to see and ears to hear few have. I don’t want to be among them. I don’t want to view life only on the surface of things, but to look deeper, knowing that I will make mistakes, but also realizing that that is the only way to learn. Live hard, fall hard, and trust the Lord for His grace. That’s all I’ve got to a certain extent.

May the Lord grant us the grace to be faithful now, so that we might see a smile from Jesus then.

Seeking first the kingdom with you,
Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

