jump to navigation

Those who are Faith in Little… July 23, 2007

Posted by Joe in Quotes, Random Musings.
trackback

Lar,

I trust you can finish the last part of that verse….“will be entrusted with much.”

I confess that as of late I have not been faithful with this blog! I am sorry brother. Yet as is often the case, seasons of unfaithfulness can often lead to greater resolve for future faithfulness. I hope and pray that is the case for me writing on this blog. At the very least, I will be checking in with you once per day this week.

To begin, here is a quote from John Newton. He writes,

“Two heaps of human happiness and misery; now if I can take but the smallest bit from one heap and add to the other, I carry a point. If, as go home, a child has dropped a halfpenny, and if, by giving it another, I can wipe away its tears, I feel I have done something. I should be glad to do greater things, but I will not neglect this. When I hear a knock on my study door, I hear a message from God; it may be a lesson of instruction; perhaps a lesson of penitence; but, since it is his message, it must be interesting.”

There is much to say about this quote, but I’ll point out two things. First, Newton was content to be faithful in the smallest of details. He wisely realized that the big things in life are the small things. And only those who are faithful in those small things will be entrusted with the great. Second, note His trust in the wise providence of God. Do we recognize divine appointments? I confess, I often am annoyed by ‘interruptions’, but then I must ask, who is interrupting me? Isn’t it the Lord? If I believe it, I will welcome and enjoy every single moment. Pray for me, that I might not resist the will of our God!

Enough for now Lar. Lord willing, I will catch you soon, but I have a feeling that I won’t hear much from you today. But that is a good thing really and can be explained further to those who read.

Seeking Him with you,
Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

