jump to navigation

Trusting in Horses and Chariots August 16, 2007

Posted by Joe in Scripture Meditation.
trackback

Lar,

So I had a good extended time of Bible meditation this morning and thought I would share a few thoughts.

The first comes from Psalm 20:7 which says, “Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.”

In essence, what struck me was the fact that our trust in the Lord does not lead us to less diligence or discipline in our use of horses and chariots. On the contrary, I think it should lead to more. What I mean by that is that though the Israelites did not want to trust in their horses and chariots, they still had to labor, in wisdom and with great diligence, day in and day out to maximize their horse training and their chariot maneuvering. They had to train for battle, though they were trusting in the Lord.

Of course, this carries with it great risk, but it is a risk that we must take. The risk is simply that the more you train, the more apt you are to trust in your training ultimately, that is, to trust in your horses and chariots. The more you invest into a certain thing, the more apt you are to trust in it. The flip side of this, however, is that if we fail to train and have the opportunity and capability to do so, the Lord usually will not grant His blessing. Sure, we can overspiritualize things (and I do think that this is a great struggle), but in the end, that is all that it is–an overspiritualization of things. For me to say that the Lord is going to provide for me financially (that is, I am not going to trust in my chariots and horses) while I fail to balance my checkbook and come up with an overall plan for how I am going to maximize the resources He gives me–well, that is an overspiritualization of things. And I think it is downright wrong. Does it honor the Lord? Well, it might seem to, but I don’t think it really does. What honors Him more is for me to do what I know I ought and to work my chariots and horses so that they are prepared when battle time comes. And, in all of that preparation, to always remain dependent and fighting for faith in the Lord.

This is big for us I believe. I think that most Christians today are desperate to embrace both sides of the equation, for all of us tend to lean towards one side or the other. Some of us are apt to trust in means while others are apt to overspiritualize things to such a degree that we fail to do what we ought to do. We fail to get down to the hard work of diligent preparation. Let us realize then that our trust in the Lord does not mean that we neglect means. As as basketball player, it is foolish for me to think that the Lord is going to open a great door of opportunity for me (and that I am going to succeed in walking through that door) if I have not done my diligent preparation. Or as a Christian, it is foolish for me to think that I don’t need to spend time in the Word and prayer because I don’t want to trust in that activity, but in the Lord. That isn’t spiritual. It is more spiritual to get down to work in utmost humility and dependence, in the recognition that “the soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied” (Provers 13:4 I believe).

I could go on, but that is enough for now. I’ll save my other Bible meditation for sometime later. Until then Lar, let us examine ourselves to see where we are failing in this. And in what areas of our lives that we are failing. Let us leave no stone unturned brother, but seek to honor the Lord in all things–by trusting Him ultimately, while diligently doing all we can to prepare for battle (whatever that ‘battle’ may be).

Seeking to trust and to labor with you,
Joe

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

